Thursday, 22 August 2019
Latest news
Main » Umpires made 'error of judgement' in awarding six overthrows - Simon Taufel

Umpires made 'error of judgement' in awarding six overthrows - Simon Taufel

16 July 2019

England, who have often cited a humiliating defeat by New Zealand at the 2015 World Cup as the catalyst for their climb to the top of the one-day global rankings, finally have a World Cup win to go with their three losing appearances in the 1979, 1987 and 1992 finals.

When Ben Stokes was playing a magnificent inning to keep England's hopes of a World Cup triumph alive at Lord's, his father Gerard Stokes was enduring few jibes about being "the most hated father in New Zealand".

Now, if one looks at this definition of the law, a conclusion can be drawn that England were awarded an extra run, i.e., they should have been awarded five runs instead of six. Stokes played the fourth ball on the midwicket boundary and ran for two runs.

More news: Vodafone becomes latest telco to refund customers over unexpected bills

After consultation with his colleagues, umpire Kumar Dharmasena signalled six runs for the incident, meaning that England - seemingly drifting out of contention needing nine runs from three balls, now only needed three more from two. Martin Guptill fired in the throw from the deep to wicketkeeper Tom Latham but it hit the bat of a diving Stokes and went to the boundary.

As the dust settles and the analysis pours in on the "greatest ODI match of all time", Kiwi cricket fans have been left wondering just how robbed they were of their first World Cup title.

Tauffel explained that he didn't blame the umpires for, in his opinion, gettin it wrong, adding, "In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw".

More news: Molinari knows odds are against him at British Open

According to the rule, "If the ball crosses the boundary due to overthrow (even after hitting any of the batsman), then the four runs will be added to the score after the overthrow".

"The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don't comment on any decisions as a matter of policy", an ICC spokesperson told CricketNext.

If one takes a close look at the video of the incident, it will be seen that at the moment the ball was released by Guptill, Stokes and his partner, Adil Rashid, had not yet crossed for their second run.

More news: Ryanair forced to slash flights by Boeing 737 Max grounding

"Obviously TV replays showed otherwise". The difficulty you [umpires] have is you've got to watch batsmen completing runs, then change focus and watch for the ball being picked up, and watch for the release [of the throw]. "It's a part of the game that we play", Williamson said. "I'm sure when they're writing the rules they never expect the world cup final to happen like that so I'm sure it'll be reviewed, absolutely".

Umpires made 'error of judgement' in awarding six overthrows - Simon Taufel