Thursday, 19 July 2018
Latest news
Main » India fight back but Sri Lanka manage to drew the first Test

India fight back but Sri Lanka manage to drew the first Test

21 November 2017

Sri Lanka's premier spin bowler Herath also made an impact - this time with the bat - hitting 67 in Sri Lanka's first innings of 294. "He's one who you can trust as a captain", he said of his pace spearhead.

"The conditions changed drastically over the five days". Rangana scoring runs (laughs), he's a fighter, unfortunately spinners couldn't come into the game. "We had to show character, having been on the backfoot on day one and day two", he said. We didn't look at the batting collapse.

India's second and third Tests against Sri Lanka in Nagpur and Delhi are likely to be played on surfaces conducive for fast bowling.

More news: Harassed IndiGo female staffer force drunk students to touch her feet

The first Test at Kolkata's Eden Gardens also had a tinge of green on it, something that was exploited well, first by Sri Lanka pacers Suranga Lakmal - who reduced India to 17/3 on Day 1 despite rain washing away most of the day - and later by India's Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami, who nearly won the game for India, leaving Sri Lanka reeling at 75/7 in their second innings.

Continue with the score of 171-1 at the end of day 4, skipper of men in blue stood tall as Virat Kohli smashed a brilliant knock of 104, including 12 boundaries and six fifties, off just 119 deliveries to help India post a respectable second-innings score of 352-8 declared.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday said in statement, "The duo made a request to the selectors and the team management to release them owing to personal reasons".

More news: Former Cheerleader Killed By Driver Using A Breathalyser Device, Police Say

Vijay Shankar, the Tamil Nadu all-rounder, has been named as the replacement for Bhuvneshwar, who is set to be married on November 23.

India squad for the second Test: Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar.

More news: Ford's Plug-In Hybrid for Police and Government Forces Is Here

India fight back but Sri Lanka manage to drew the first Test