Saturday, 26 May 2018
Latest news
Main » West Indies annouces 13-member squad for 1st two ODIs against India

West Indies annouces 13-member squad for 1st two ODIs against India

20 June 2017

The five-match ODI series against India is likely to be the West Indies' last chance to rise up the rankings and automatically qualify for the 2019 World Cup.

According to ESPNcricinfo, the selectors made a decision to retain the same squad in order to maintain continuity, after they drew the three-match series versus Afghanistan 1-1.

India are the world number three side in ODIs and they come into this series after a runner-up finish at the Champions Trophy. Earlier, they defeated the talented Afghans by 3-0 in the Twenty20I series.

More news: Time Warner Signs $100 Million, 10 Show Deal With Snap

The West Indies have retained same squad that played in the series against Afghanistan to face India for the first two matches of the ODI series set to begin next week.

Pacer Shanon Gabriel has not been included in the squad as he is undergoing a rehabilitation for an injury.

India has already announced its full team. Jasprit Bumrah too has been rested for the series.

More news: Orlando Remembers Pulse Victims One Year After Shooting

Both Rishabh and Kuldeep were in stand byes for the Champions Trophy and it was only a fair call by the selection committee led by MSK Prasad to try the two youngsters against a weaker global side.

Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Dinesh Karthik.

The West Indies' limited overs series against India will consist of five ODIs and a one-off Twenty20 worldwide, and will get underway on Friday in Trinidad.

More news: Justices take on fight over partisan electoral maps