Wednesday, 19 September 2018
Latest news
Main » BJP wins Latur, Congress gains in Parbhani

BJP wins Latur, Congress gains in Parbhani

21 April 2017

Extending its winning streak, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis has won the Latur Municipal Corporation election handsomely.

Defeat in Latur came as a major embarrassment for the Congress as the district has traditionally been the bastion of the party stalwart and former chief minister (late) Vilasrao Deshmukh.

Congress that had won 49 seats in 2012 polls, could retain 31 seats in the Latur Municipal Corporation election 2017. In Parbhani, however, the Congress emerged as the single largest party with 31 seats and the NCP that has been ruling the civic body finished second with 18 seats.

More news: Made Aadhaar mandatory to prevent fund diversion to shell companies: Centre

His eldest son Amit Deshmukh is a sitting MLA from Latur city constituency while youngest son Dhiraj Deshmukh is an member of the Latur zilla parishad.

In Chandrapur in Vidarbha, the BJP won 32 of the 66 seats. It's another victory for Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, who led the campaign.

LIVE- Latur Municipal Corporation Election Results: As many as 407 candidates are trying their luck for 70 wards in Latur civic body.

More news: Rallies held for Pacers ahead of Game 3

He thanked the people of Latur and Chandrapur for the mandate to his party and for showing faith in his government. The BSP ended up with eight seats while the MNS, NCP and Shiv Sena ended up with two each.

The Congress was leading in Parbhani in 30 out of 65 seats, where NCP was leading in 20 seats.

In Latur Zilla Parishad (ZP) polls, the BJP had breached the long-standing Congress citadel. The party also made inroads into the hinterland in the elections held in February for 25 Zilla Parishads. For the first time since Independence, Latur voted for the BJP, the party which had no seats in municipal corporation. There are 418 candidates in the fray; number of voters is 2.12 lakh. It was a test for district guardian minister and senior Sena leader Diwakar Raote. On the other hand, the BJP continues to register victory after victory in Maharashtra and other parts of the country.

More news: Herrera vows to keep proving his worth

BJP wins Latur, Congress gains in Parbhani